Almost twenty-five years ago, the Hansen Chair of Peace was created at the College of Arts and Letters by the Fred J. Hansen Foundation. University-wide, Hansen Chair programs promote the foundation’s vision of promoting world peace and healing differences through joint projects, respectful engagement, problem-solving, education, and research. The Hansen Chair is awarded to outstanding scholars at SDSU whose research and teaching focus on peace and nonviolence.

Fred J. Hansen immigrated to the United States from Denmark at the age of ten, settling in the San Diego area in the early twentieth century.  He was a successful businessman and among the first developers of large avocado orchards in the region. Foreign travel convinced Hansen that if adversaries could be encouraged to work together on projects of mutual benefit, conflict could be mitigated, and differences healed. Hansen designated a portion of his estate to promote this vision at SDSU and, more widely, in the San Diego metropolitan area. 

Rebecca Bartel
Associate Professor, Study of Religion
Hansen Chair: Current

Hank E. Johnson
Professor, Sociology
Hansen Chair: 2016-2021

Jonathan Graubart
Professor, Political Science
Hansen Chair: 2011-2016

Dipak Gupta
Professor Emeritus, Political Science
Hansen Chair: 2004-2011

Brian Loveman
Professor Emeritus, Political Science
Hansen Chair: 2001-2004

Dipak Gupta
Professor, Public Administration & Urban Studies
Hansen Chair: 1998-2001